Ngunnawal CountryCategory Listing

home ›› au ›› australian-captial-territory-act ›› woden-valley

Sign up action   Login action

Woden Valley is one of the five satellite cities that make up the ACT. The other four locations include Canberra North and South, Tuggeranong, Belconnen, and Gungahlin.

Within the district are a number of community facilities including the Phillip campus of the Canberra College, a secondary school catering to years 11 and 12 (16 - 18 years old); a library, the Woden Youth Centre, and the Canberra Hospital, which is located in the north of the district.

In 1964 it was the first satellite city to be built, separate from the Canberra Central district. Woden has its own shopping centre, employment opportunities and accommodation with twelve suburbs arranged around the Woden Town Centre, which include Chifley, Curtin, Farrer, Garran, Hughes, Isaacs, Lyons, Mawson, O'Malley, Pearce, Phillip and Torrens.

Studying | Working | Living | Playing in Woden Valley, Ngunnawal Country?

Located less than a 10-minute drive to either Parliament House or Manuka Oval, the Woden Valley district is a set of contiguous residential suburbs that surround the Woden Town Centre, which includes a major shopping centre, called Westfield Woden, or more commonly known as Woden Plaza. Woden is also home to the tallest building in Canberra, Lovett Tower, which stands at 22 stories. Lovett Tower and a number of other buildings host staff from Australian Government agencies; there is also some light industrial development in the town centre.

   © Copyright 2015,